Thuya Garden & Lodge
The Thuya Garden and surrounding land is a wonderful blend of semi-formal English border beds and indigenous eastern Maine woodlands situated on a granite hillside overlooking Northeast Harbor.
Visitors by sea can tie up at Asticou Terraces Landing and walk up the 1/4–mile Asticou Terrace Trail to the garden and lodge, passing the Joseph H. Curtis Memorial and enjoying the views from several lookouts along the way. Parking is available at the landing and at the top of Thuya Drive.
The construction of Thuya Lodge began in 1912 and was completed in 1916 by Joseph H. Curtis who summered there until his death in 1928. Thuya Garden was created by Charles K. Savage beginning in 1956 through 1961 on the land that was formerly Mr. Curtis’ orchard.
The garden's herbaceous borders are a pleasing mixture of colorful annuals and perennials defining the two sides of an expanse of grass lawns leading to the upper pavilion at the northern end and a shallow reflecting pool at the southern end.
The Entrance Gates, pictured to the right, were designed by Charles K. Savage and hand-carved in cedar by Mr. Savage and Augustus D. Phillips. Many of the Soderholtz vessels were originally part of Beatrix Farrand's collection at Reef Point in Bar Harbor.